Thoughts on mise en place

So, apparently I’m not a horrible person after all.

I recently mentioned mise en place — the technique of prepping all your ingredients before you start cooking. It was only then that I realized that not only is that a thing with a name, I apparently was supposed to be doing it. Yikes.

Yes, the chefs on TV usually have their ingredients ready in pretty little bowls, but I figured that was because they have whole crews full of people to do their chopping for them. I certainly wasn’t doing it. And I was afraid I was leading y’all astray.

But then I saw this article from this weekend’s NY Times magazine (they post some of their stuff online early). Apparently I’m not the only one who doesn’t have the time or patience to chop and measure everything ahead of time. And I don’t have to feel bad about it anymore. You shouldn’t either. Phew.

About Jen @ Marshmallows and Margaritas

Sugar addict / glitter lover / cocktail enthusiast
This entry was posted in cooking, how to and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts on mise en place

  1. Nakia Jackson says:

    First let me say, I stumbled upon your blog looking for a bread recipe. I started reading and fell in love…Great work…
    In regards to mise en place, In my early baking days, I learned of this from Alton Brown. And at that time, because ‘Alton knew’ best to me, I tried. I went out and got the cute little prep bowls, found them at the ‘Christmas Tree Store’ for like $1 each for the cup size bowls and .50 for the tablespoon bowls. But as you say, it’s really hard to work in the time to do pre-prep. Maybe we should hire ourselves a crew..lol

  2. Jen says:

    Nakia,
    Thanks for reading and for commenting! I love Alton Brown and usually believe he does know best… but maybe not in this case. There are definitely some recipes where it pays to have everything out and waiting, but most of the time there is really no reason to do all that measuring ahead of time. So until I have an assistant or three, I’ll stick to measuring as I go.

Leave a Reply

